The contenders for the 2016 World Car of the Year award have been recently announced.

Last year we have seen the Volkswagen Passat crowned the World Car of the Year, with other winners including the Mercedes-Benz S-Class Coupe in the Luxury, Citroen C4 Cactus in the Design, the Mercedes-AMG GT in the Performance and the BMW i8 in the Green categories. In order to be eligible for the prize, the vehicles must be new and officially available to buy on at least two continents between the 1st of January 2015 and the 31st of May 2016. Judges will be announcing the top three finalists at the 2016 Geneva Motor Show, in March, and later on, that month, the winners will be announced during the 2016 New York Auto Show.

2016 Car of the Year
Audi A4
Cadillac CT6
Chevrolet Malibu
Ford Edge
Honda HR-V
Hyundai Creta
Hyundai Tucson
Jaguar XE
Kia Optima
Land Rover Discovery Sport
Mazda CX-3
Mazda MX-5
Mercedes-Benz GLC
Nissan Maxima
Opel Astra
Skoda Superb
SsangYong Tivoli
Subaru Levorg
Subaru Outback
Toyota Prius
Volkswagen Touran

2016 World Performance Car of the Year
Audi R8 Coupe
Audi RS3 Sportback
BMW X5 M and X6 M
Cadillac ATS-V
Cadillac CTS-V
Chevrolet Camaro
Honda Civic Type R
Mercedes-AMG C63 Coupe
Range Rover Sport SVR

2016 World Luxury Car of the Year
Audi Q7
Bentley Mulsanne Speed
BMW 7-Series
Infiniti Q30
Jaguar XF
Lexus RX
Mercedes-Benz GLE Coupe
Volvo XC90

2016 World Green Car of the Year
BMW 330e
Chevrolet Volt
Mercedes-Benz C350e
Nissan Murano Hybrid
Nissan X-Trail Hybrid
Toyota Mirai
Toyota Prius
Volkswagen Passat GTE

2016 World Design Car of the Year
Audi Q7
Audi R8
BMW 2-Series Convertible
BMW 7-Series
Hyundai Creta
Mercedes-Benz C-Class Coupe


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here