The new qualifying format for the 2013 season will give speed a more important role than before.

According to NASCAR’s new 36-6-1 format, the fastest 36 cars will automatically qualify for races this year. Once the 36 cars are determined, the next six highest ranking cars in owners points will be granted access to the race. Finally, the last starting position will be given to the most recent eligible past champion. If that rule is not applicable, then the final car will be selected based on owners points.

As for the order of qualifying for NASCAR Sprint Cup Series events, it will return to a random draw. If qualifying is canceled due to rain, the starting lineup will be determined based on practice speeds.

The last change for the Sprint Cup Series, Nationwide Series and Camping World Truck Series it that the provisional positions will be based on owner points from the 2012 season for the first three races. Previously, the rule took into account the points from the first five races for the Sprint Cup and Nationwide series, and four for the Camping World Truck Series.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here