Eurosport launches WTCC Asia Trophy image

Eurosport Events has launched a dedicated trophy for Asian drivers in the World Touring Car Championship.

The first Eurosport Asia Trophy will be awarded at the end of the 2013 season to the best Asian driver taking into account the results achieved in Suzuka, Shanghai and Macau.

“In recent years we have noticed more and more interest in WTCC from the Asian drivers. Especially because most of the former WTCC cars continue racing in the national championships in Macau, Hong Kong, China and other countries in the Far East,” said WTCC General Manager Marcello Lotti.

“To encourage them and in appreciation of their efforts, we have decided to award a special trophy that will be handed during the end of the season prize giving at Macau. And on top of this we are currently negotiating with potential sponsors to allocate a prize money,” Lotti added.

The Trophy will be reserved for race-by-race entrants, with points to be awarded to the eight best drivers classified in each of the six races (10, 8, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1). One additional point will be awarded for each point scored in the WTCC Drivers’ Championship.

Eurosport Asia Pacific will air a Congratulations campaign dedicated to the winning driver, who will also benefit from exposure on the WTCC website and social media. Last year, 13 Asian drivers had entered in at least one of the three WTCC events in the Far East.