Ford’s 1.0L EcoBoost wins International Engine of the Year once again image

The small 1.0 liter EcoBoost unit, signed by Ford, has managed to win the International Engine of the Year for the third time.

The third straight year in a row has brought a new award to Ford’s small 1.0 liter EcoBoost engine as the unit has been named the International Engine of the Year. The jury has awarded a total of 351 points to the EcoBoost engine which has managed to place it on top of the 4.5 liter V8 made by Ferrari, with its 281 points, and the 1.4 liter TSI signed by Volkswagen, with its 254 points.

The sub 1-liter category has been won by the small Ford EcoBoost engine too, as it has 999 cc, and it managed to achieve a total of 650 points, being followed by the 647 cc range extender made by BMW and by the three-cylinder unit with 999 cc signed by Volkswagen. Below you can see all the winners of the latest edition.

International Engine of the Year – Ford 1.0L EcoBoost
Green Engine – Tesla Full electric powertrain
New Engine – Mercedes-AMG 2-liter turbo
Performance Engine – Ferrari 4.5 liter V8
Sub 1-liter – Ford 1.0L EcoBoost
1.0-liter to 1.4-liter – VW 1.4L TSI Twincharger
1.4L to 1.8L – BMW / PSA Peugeot Citroen 1.6L turbo petrol
1.8L to 2.0L – Mercedes-AMG 2-liter turbo
2.0L to 2.5L – Audi 2.5L five-cylinder turbo
2.5L to 3.0L – BMW 3-liter twin power turbo six-cylinder gasoline burner
3.0L to 4.0L – McLaren 3.8L V8
Above 4.0L – Ferrari 4.5L V8