NASCAR: Jimmie Johnson wins the Daytona 500, Danica Patrick finishes 8th image

Jimmie Johnson won the Daytona 500 for the second time in his career and ended his streak of poor results in NASCAR’s premier race.

He held off Hendrick Motorsports team-mate Dale Earnhardt Jr. Johnson has been battling for victory throughout the event, including with reigning champion Brad Keselowski into the final part of the race.

As Keselowski lost ground at a late restart, Greg Biffle and Danica Patrick started challenging Johnson, until the final lap, when Patrick and Biffle were both caught out when Earnhardt and Mark Martin came hard on the inside line.

Johnson beat his team-mate by 0.129 seconds, with Earnhardt and Martin completing the top three ahead of Keselowski. Despite being third for most of the race and even leading Daytona 500, Patrick ended up eighth, behind Ryan Newman, Biffle and Regan Smith. Michael McDowell and JJ Yeley finished in the final top 10 spots, securing big pay days.

Duel winner Kevin Harvick and three-time champion Tony Stewart were both eliminated in the race’s first pile-up folllowing Kyle Busch’s tapping Kasey Kahne into a spin on lap 33.

Toyota teams were decimated by engine failures, with Matt Kenseth, Kyle Busch and Martin Truex Jr retiring. Clint Bowyer and Denny Hamlin finished 11th and 14th, while Jeff Gordon was only 20th at the flag.

Daytona 500 results:

Pos Driver Team/Car Time/Gap
1. Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Chevrolet 3h10m14.000s
2. Dale Earnhardt Jr Hendrick Chevrolet + 0.129s
3. Mark Martin Waltrip Toyota + 0.255s
4. Brad Keselowski Penske Ford + 0.359s
5. Ryan Newman Stewart-Haas Chevrolet + 0.477s
6. Greg Biffle Roush Fenway Ford + 0.524s
7. Regan Smith Phoenix Chevrolet + 0.626s
8. Danica Patrick Stewart-Haas Chevrolet + 0.658s
9. Michael McDowell Parsons Ford + 0.691s
10. JJ Yeley Baldwin Chevrolet + 0.731s
11. Clint Bowyer Waltrip Toyota + 0.827s
12. Ricky Stenhouse Jr Roush Fenway Ford + 1.176s
13. Aric Almirola Petty Ford + 1.198s
14. Denny Hamlin Gibbs Toyota + 1.279s
15. Bobby Labonte JTG Daugherty Toyota + 1.542s
16. David Reutimann BK Toyota + 2.273s
17. Dave Blaney Baldwin Chevrolet + 5.306s
18. Marcos Ambrose Petty Ford + 8.581s
19. Joey Logano Penske Ford + 9.266s
20. Jeff Gordon Hendrick Chevrolet + 11.216s
21. Paul Menard Childress Chevrolet + 18.220s
22. Michael Waltrip Swan Toyota + 19.788s
23. Scott Speed Leavine Ford + 20.714s
24. Martin Truex Jr Waltrip Toyota + 24.753s
25. Travis Kvapil BK Toyota + 1 lap
26. Terry Labonte FAS Lane Ford + 1 lap
27. Trevor Bayne Wood Brothers Ford + 2 laps
28. Kurt Busch Furniture Row Chevrolet + 2 laps
29. Casey Mears Germain Ford + 18 laps
30. Jeff Burton Childress Chevrolet + 24 laps
31. Austin Dillon Childress Chevrolet + 24 laps
32. Jamie McMurray Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet + 38 laps
33. Carl Edwards Roush Fenway Ford + 40 laps


Kyle Busch Gibbs Toyota 151 laps
David Ragan Front Row Ford 150 laps
Kasey Kahne Hendrick Chevrolet 150 laps
Matt Kenseth Gibbs Toyota 149 laps
David Gilliland Front Row Ford 144 laps
Juan Pablo Montoya Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet 144 laps
Josh Wise Front Row Ford 137 laps
Tony Stewart Stewart-Haas Chevrolet 118 laps
Kevin Harvick Childress Chevrolet 47 laps
Joe Nemechek NEMCO Toyota 42 laps

Via | Autosport