Nurburgring WEC – Porsche leads in qualifications, AF Corse Ferraris tops LMGTE Pro image

For Porsche it was a great day today at the Nurburgring as both 919 Hybrid cars lead the qualifications session.

Both Porsche drivers – Romain Dumas and Marc Lieb were the overall fastest in today’s qualifications (an average time of 1:36.473) – Porsche achieving the eight pole position since the automaker started to race last year. The grid positions right next to them was claimed by Mark Webber and Timo Bernhard (1:36.542).

“It was a great qualifying. Marc did a terrific job, but it was a hard battle with our sister car. I had traffic on my first lap, so I had to do another one, which then luckily was enough.

I think all six Porsche drivers are very close together here, the gap is only a few tenths of a second, so the race will be intense,” Romain Dumas said shortly after the race.

“Great day for Porsche with another front row lock out. Especially on such a short circuit this shows the progress we have made with the car. On my first attempt another car got in my way and we organised ourselves to do another lap, which wasn’t planned.

We are in a great shape and, anyway, qualifying is only a small part of the job in endurance racing, “Webber said.

For Audi, once again business as usual if you want, with the N.08 R18 e-tron quattro ahead of the No.07 car.

Lucas di Grassi (BR) managed to set the best single time of an Audi driver (1m 37.413s).
Once again a difficult day for Toyota achieving only fifth and sixth positions, more than two seconds off the pace from the pole-sitting Porsche.
AF Corse have been much better today, biting Aston’s team in the LMGTE Pro category, while in the LMGTE Am class, SMP Racing, with Viktor Shaytar and Aleksey Basov win the pole position for tomorrow’s race.

WEC Nurburgring Qualifications 10

WEC Nurburgring Qualifications 19

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
Romain Dumas
Neel Jani
Marc Lieb
Porsche 1’36.473
Timo Bernhard
Mark Webber
Brendon Hartley
Porsche 1’36.542 0.069
Lucas di Grassi
Loïc Duval
Oliver Jarvis
Audi 1’37.476 1.003
Marcel Fässler
André Lotterer
Benoît Tréluyer
Audi 1’37.783 1.310
Anthony Davidson
Sébastien Buemi
Kazuki Nakajima
Toyota 1’38.689 2.216
Alexander Wurz
Mike Conway
Toyota 1’39.371 2.898
Nicolas Prost
Mathias Beche
Nick Heidfeld
Rebellion/AER 1’42.513 6.040
Daniel Abt
Rebellion/AER 1’42.985 6.512
Simon Trummer
Pierre Kaffer
CLM/AER 1’44.886 8.413
10  Matt Howson
Richard Bradley
Nick Tandy
ORECA/Nissan 1’46.132 9.659
11  Roman Rusinov
Julien Canal
Sam Bird
Ligier/Nissan 1’46.505 10.032
12  N.Panciatici
Paul-Loup Chatin
Alpine/Nissan 1’47.174 10.701
13  Gustavo Yacamán
Luis Derani
Ricardo González
Ligier/Nissan 1’47.179 10.706
14  Pierre Ragues
Oliver Webb
Archie Hamilton
Morgan/SARD 1’47.572 11.099
15  Nick Leventis
Danny Watts
Jonny Kane
Dome/Nissan 1’48.250 11.777
16  Scott Sharp
Ryan Dalziel
David Hansson
Ligier/HPD 1’48.342 11.869
17  Ed Brown
J.van Overbeek
Jon Fogarty
Ligier/HPD 1’50.594 14.121
18  Gianmaria Bruni
Toni Vilander
Ferrari 1’54.275 17.802
19  Davide Rigon
James Calado
Ferrari 1’54.330 17.857
20  Marco Sørensen
Aston Martin 1’54.498 18.025
21  Patrick Pilet
Porsche 1’54.688 18.215
22  Richard Lietz
Porsche 1’54.729 18.256
23  Fernando Rees
Alex MacDowall
Richie Stanaway
Aston Martin 1’54.933 18.460
24  Darren Turner
Stefan Mücke
Jonathan Adam
Aston Martin 1’55.387 18.914
25  Viktor Shaitar
Andrea Bertolini
Aleksey Basov
Ferrari 1’56.528 20.055
26  Paul Dalla Lana
Pedro Lamy
Mathias Lauda
Aston Martin 1’57.060 20.587
27  Patrick Dempsey
Patrick Long
Marco Seefried
Porsche 1’57.232 20.759
28  François Perrodo
Emmanuel Collard
Rui Águas
Ferrari 1’57.246 20.773
29  Christian Ried
K.Al Qubaisi
Earl Bamber
Porsche 1’57.563 21.090
30  Gianluca Roda
Paolo Ruberti
Kristian Poulsen
Chevrolet 1’57.647 21.174
31  F.Castellacci
Roald Goethe
Stuart Hall
Aston Martin 1’59.993 23.520