Sebastien Loeb won the Rally Finland image

Sebastien Loeb won yesterday the Rally Finland.

Sebastien Loeb knows a lot about winning World Rally Championship events–he’s done it 66 times–but the Frenchman’s latest victory on Rally Finland was a special one.

Loeb was so comfortable in his Citroen DS3 WRC that he was able to carry the fight to the locals and beat them at their own game with a consummate performance over central Finland’s super-quick stages.
The Frenchman drove his Citroen the 314.4 kilometers of 22 special stages in 2 hours, 39 minutes, 37 seconds to beat Jari-Matti Latvala of Finland in his Ford by 8.1 seconds. Sebastien Ogier of France, in a Citroen, was 12.8 behind in third.
Loeb kept hold of the lead throughout the afternoon repeats and the final power stage. Latvala moved into second place after Ogier suffered a puncture on SS17 which wiped out almost all of his margin over the Ford driver.

Top ten results after SS22:







1. 1 Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total Citroen DS3 WRC 2:39:37.0
2. 4 Jari-Matti Latvala Ford Abu Dhabi Ford Fiesta RS WRC +8.1
3. 2 Sebastien Ogier Citroen Total Citroen DS3 WRC +12.8
4. 3 Mikko Hirvonen Ford Abu Dhabi Ford Fiesta RS WRC +1:09.1
5. 11 Petter Solberg PSWRT Citroen DS3 WRC +1:16.2
6. 6 Mads Ostberg M-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC +1:27.8
7. 15 Henning Solberg M-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC +3:25.5
8. 5 Matthew Wilson M-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC +3:53.2
9. 8 Kimi Raikkonen Ice 1 Citroen DS3 WRC +3:59.8
10. 25 Juho Hanninen Red Bull Skoda Skoda Fabia S2000 +5:13.7

Drivers’ standings after 8 of 13 rounds:

1. Sebastien Loeb, 171 points
2. Mikko Hirvonen, 144
3. Sebastien Ogier, 140
4. Jari-Matti Latvala, 94
5. Petter Solberg, 83
6. Mads Ostberg, 56