The new Race of Champions winner is Sebastian Vettel image

Sebastian Vettel, a four-time Formula One world champion, has decided the 2015 Race of Champions should be his and during the event taking place at London’s Olympic Stadium he took home the prize instead of Tom Kristensen.

Vettel, a German-born driver, went in the final after beating previously Petter Solberg, Nico Hulkenberg and David Coulthard –there he faced off with Le Mans icon Kristensen, who in turn beat Nelson Piquet, Jason Plato and Alex Buncombe. The Formula One star was behind the wheel of a KTM X-Bow for the first round and then went on comfortably ahead of Hulkenberg during the buggies round. The semi-finals were action packed and drew the crowds in with the breathtakingly close game between Vettel and Coulthard as the winner was decided after three attempts. This was Vettel’s first participation in the final of RoC and he competed against Tom Kristensen, who kept his negative score of losing three previous RoC finals.

The pair was divided by mere tenths of a second during the first round that pitted them against each other while driving the Radical SR3. The second leg was actually postponed as the Danish legend’s ROC buggy had a misfire. Ultimately, the battle went on but Kristensen took his X-Bow into the barrier so Vettel only had a formal run to end up as the Race of Champions champion this year in London. The previous edition had been won by David Coulthard, who clashed in the final round with Pascal Wehrlein.