Volkswagen has won the Dakar Rally for the second time image

Volkswagen has won the legendary Dakar Rally for the second time in succession. The Volkswagen duos and their TDI powered Race Touareg prototypes celebrated a one-two-three podium lockout at the finish of the toughest challenge in motorsport.
In the process, Carlos Sainz / Lucas Cruz (E/E) triumphed by only 2 minutes 12 seconds ahead of team mates Nasser Al-Attiyah / Timo Gottschalk (Q/D) in a thrilling finale on the closing 202 kilometre sprint on the 14th and final rally day. Mark Miller / Ralph Pitchford (USA/ZA) claimed third position while last year’s winners Giniel de Villiers / Dirk von Zitzewitz (ZA/D) finished seventh.

Cooling / RefrigerandoImage by . SantiMB . via Flickr

‘I’m incredibly proud of our team. It’s stunning what the drivers, co-drivers and the entire team have achieved on every single day of the Dakar Rally. With this one-two-three triumph Volkswagen Motorsport even surpassed its own lofty goals, ’ says Dr. rer. pol. h. c. Francisco Javier Garcia Sanz, Member of the Board of Management at Volkswagen AG for procurement, at the finish of the final stage.

Volkswagen Motorsport Director Kris Nissen explains: ‘Three weeks ago a highly motivated Volkswagen team came with the goal of successfully defending the Dakar title won last year. Volkswagen has achieved something historical with this one-two-three. We are not only unbeaten in South America, we are also the only manufacturer to have won the world’s hardest rally up to now with diesel technology. The Volkswagen drivers fought amongst themselves for victory all the way to the chequered flag – sometimes by hard but fair means. This is exactly how we imagine motorsport to be. My congratulations therefore go to every Volkswagen duo who would all have been worthy winners.’

The Wolfsburg based brand remains the only manufacturer to have won the car category of the Dakar Rally with diesel power. TDI technology was already dominant in 2009 in Argentina and Chile. In addition to the efficiency of the Volkswagen Group’s diesel direct injection technology the Race Touareg’s reliability was the key to the 2010 Dakar victory.

Final standings after stage 14, Santa Rosa (RA)-Buenos Aires (RA);
202/707 km SS/total

Pos Team Vehicle Leg 14 Total time
1 Sainz / Cruz (E / E) Volkswagen Race Touareg 2 1h 20m 18s (2)

47h 10m 00s

2 Al-Attiyah / Gottschalk (Q / D) Volkswagen Race Touareg 2 1h 19m 42s (1)

+ 2m 12s

3 Miller / Pitchford (USA / ZA) Volkswagen Race Touareg 2 1h 21m 21s (5)

+ 32m 51s

4 Peterhansel / Cottret (F / F) BMW X3 CC 1h 20m 50s (4)

+ 2h 17m 21s

5 Chicherit / Thörner (F / S) BMW X3 CC 1h 20m 25s (3)

+ 4h 02m 49s

6 Sousa / Baumel (P / F) Mitsubishi Racing Lancer 1h 25m 31s (15)

+ 4h 31m 45s

7 de Villiers / von Zitzewitz (ZA / D) Volkswagen Race Touareg 2 1h 21m 23s (6)

+ 5h 10m 19s

8 Gordon / Grider (USA / USA) Hummer 1h 21m 40s (7)

+ 6h 02m 24s

9 Terranova / Maimon (RA / F) Mitsubishi Racing Lancer 1h 22m 10s (8)

+ 6h 04m 47s

10 Spinelli / Palmeiro (BR / P) Mitsubishi Racing Lancer 1h 24m 50s (13)

+ 6h 13m 41s