Graham Rahal doesn’t rule out return to Ganassi’s IndyCar team in the future image

Graham Rahal says a return to the Ganassi IndyCar team is not to be ruled out in the future, although he is convinced that coming to Rahal Letterman Lanigan was the best move for him.

Rahal left Ganassi at the end of 2012 to join his father’s Rahal Letterman Lanigan team, following two frustrating seasons that left him with only four podiums and a best championship finish of ninth in 2011. However, despite his underachievements, Rahal says there were plenty positive things at Ganassi.

“I think the Ganassi thing will be good for me moving on forward in my career. Who knows, I would love to be in IndyCar racing for many years to come, and maybe one of these days will end up back there. But I’m not going to sit there and tell you it was a complete failure. We just maybe didn’t have all the wins and successes that we hoped for,” Rahal was quoted as saying by Autosport.

His only IndyCar win so far came in 2008 at his debut in St Petersburg with Newman/Haas. He was close to add his second career win last year at Texas Motor Speedway, but he hit the wall while leading with two laps to go and was passed by Justin Wilson who won the race.